July 4th/Fourth of July/ “The Fourth”

The United States of America celebrates its independence from Great Britain (England) on July 4th.  Most Americans refer to Independence Day as “The Fourth of July” or “July 4th.

On July 2, 1776, the Continental Congress (delegates from 13 colonies/states) voted in favor of independence from Great Britain (England). Two days later, on July 4, 1776, the delegates approved the final version of the Declaration of Independence. However, it wasn’t signed until August 2, 1776. Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, but others contributed their ideas.

In 1941, Independence Day (The Fourth of July) became a federal holiday.

Americans celebrate the Fourth of July with a picnic, parade, barbeque, fireworks, etc.